Group Members

Current Staff

Dr. Guangyu Zhao, Senior Research Scientist

Current Graduate Students

Michie Vianca De Vera, Ph.D. candidate

John Lundstrom, M.S. candidate

Rose Miller, Ph.D. candidate (currently Atmospheric Scientist in Sustainability and Future Mobility, Boeing)

Joseph Nied, M.S. candidate

Current Undergraduate Students

There are currently no undergraduate students in the group

Former Postdocs, Where They are Now, Postdoc Years

Sagnik Dey,  Professor, Indian Institute of Technology – Delhi, 2007-2010

Iliana Genkova, Scientist, NOAA via I.M. Systems Group Inc, 2005-2005

Yulan Hong, Research Scientist, University of Maryland, 2017-2023

Guangyu Zhao, Senior Research Scientist, University of Illinois, 2006-2007

Yizhe Zhan, Research Scientist, Meteorological Service of New Zealand, 2017-2019

Former Graduate Students, Where They are Now, Degree Earned

Suchismita Bose, Environmental Specialist, NRG Energy, MS 2011

Javier Villegas Bravo, Satellite Liaison at the NOAA Weather and Ocean Prediction Centers, MS 2021

Joe Brewer, Executive Director, Center for Applied Cultural Evolution, MS 2004

Remy CrowleyFarenga, Quantitative Analyst, National Futures Association, MS 2018

Michie Vianca De Vera, PhD candidate, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, MS 2023

Dongwei Fu, Research Scientist, Space Science and Engineering Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison, MS 2018, PhD 2022

Conor Haney, Research Scientist, NASA Langley Research Center with SSAI, MS 2013

Allison Houghton, Graduate Student, Stanford University, MS 2014

Alexandra Jones, Assistant Clinical Professor and Director of the Atmospheric & Oceanic Science Undergraduate Program, University of Maryland, PhD 2016

Megan King, Scientist, US Army Combat Capability Development Command Aviation and Missile Center, MS 2015

Byungsuk Lee, Research Assistant Consultant, Green Climate Fund, MS 2017

Lusheng Liang, Research Physical Scientist, NASA Langley Research Center with SSAI, PhD 2009

Jesse Loveridge, Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Colorado State University, PhD 2023

Arka Mitra, Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Argon National Laboratory, PhD 2023

Kevin Mueller, Senior Software Engineer, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, MS 2008

Bethany Norris, Scientist, Verisk Analytics, MS  2012

Puja Ray, NCAR ASP Postdoctoral Fellow, National Center for Atmospheric Research, PhD 2023

Eric Snodgrass, Principle Atmopsheric Scientist, Nutrien Ag Solutions; Adj. Assist. Prof., University of Illinois, MS 2006

Ming Su, Graduate Student, University of Queensland, MS 2017

Jason Tackett, Research Physical Scientist, NASA Langley Research Center, MS 2009

Mike Wilson, Scientific Programmer, NOAA with I.M. Systems Group Inc, PhD 2009

Yuekui Yang, Research Physical Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, PhD 2007

Guangyu Zhao, Senior Research Scientist, University of Illinois, PhD 2006

Former Undergraduate Students, Where They are Now, Group Years

Shashank Bansal, Graduate Student, Stanford University, 2017-2018

Brandon Chen, Software Engineer, Microsoft, 2017-2018

Landon Clipp, HPC Production Engineer, Jump Trading, 2016-2018

Fred Fettinger, Lead Software Engineer, HERE, 2002-2005

Richie Lo Yat Long, Graduate Student, Oxford University, UK, 2017-2017

Andrew Manaster, Research Scientist, Remote Sensing Systems, 2013-2013

Matthew Rilloraza, Undergraduate Student, Engineering Physics, 2022-2022

Maxwell Smith, Software Engineer, Google, 2011-2013

Gala Wind, Lead Research Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, 2001-2002